Just a heads-up that I’m going to be taking part in the MA reading tomorrow at The Workshop, Earlham Road, Norwich. I believe I’m the only prose student on the bill: everybody else is representing the life-writing/poetry strands.

I don’t think I’ve performed in public since my reign of terror/triumph at the Skipton Festival during the mid-90s, when I turned my hand to bible reading, Shakespeare monologues (Gertrude, at age ten. Really.), and indeed the star role in a musical production of The Pobble Who Had No Toes. I have to read my own work tomorrow, so I won’t give my public what it really wants re Lear or Psalm 23, but rest assured the delivery will be the same: a reedy monotone, eyes fixed on the far horizon, earnestly sticking to the rehearsed dramatic gestures/breathing patterns.

Do come, if you can. It’ll be fun. Starts at 6.30.

